Fresh Off The Block


Nov
16
2010

Windows Vista/7 Tips: Prevent being automatically upgraded to Windows Live Messenger 2011

Microsoft have in recent years earned a reputation of being quite sneaky with regards to their popular Windows Live Messenger (formerly MSN) communication tool. In recent years, we’ve seen constant nag screens, and a few versions have even FORCED users to update.

Recently, Microsoft launched another new version, Windows Live Messenger 2011, as part of a new Windows Live Essentials 2011 suite of applications. It introduced a brand social element to the Messenger, allowing users to integrate it with Social Networks and see updates on the right side, as well as a major interface change, but many people find the new look and various other tweaks hard to get to grips with, or don’t want social networking cluttering their Instant Messaging, and would rather avoid having the new version. Thankfully, Microsoft seems to have learnt from previous mistakes, and aren’t forcing people into upgrading their version of Messenger to the latest version – yet. However, without knowing it, many Windows Vista and 7 users have unwillingly opted in to downloading and receiving the new version. How, you may ask? Because Windows have sneakily made the latest version, and the Windows Live Essentials 2011 Suite it comes with, an “important” Windows Update. Sneaky, huh?

So, what if you are a Windows Vista or 7 User who already has Windows Live Messenger, and doesn’t want to get the update to WLM 2011? Well, thankfully, there’s a way to disable getting the update if you haven’t already installed it. Follow these simple steps, and you’ll never have the update creep up on you without you knowing: Read the tutorial!